Skip to main content


iLembe District Municipality is situated on the east coast of KwaZulu-Natal and is the smallest of the province’s district municipalities. The majority of the rural inland areas are tribal authority areas, characterised by subsistence farming. The town straddles the Tugela River, the traditional border between former Colonial Natal and the Kingdom of Zululand, the site of historical and cultural events. The seat of iLembe is KwaDukuza (previously Stanger).

iLembe consists of four local municipalities located between Durban and Richards Bay: Mandeni, KwaDukuza, Maphumulo and Ndwedwe.

Vision 2030

By 2030 iLembe District Municipality will be a sustainable people-centred economic hub providing excellent services and quality of life.

  • Cities/Towns: Dolphin Coast/Ballito, Isithebe, KwaDukuza, Mandeni, Ndwedwe, Nkwazi/Zinkwazi Beach
  • Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture
  • Area: 3 269km²

The iLembe District Municipality is a 100% shareholder of Enterprise iLembe, led by His Worship Mayor Cllr. TP Shandu.